Showing posts with label Clone Wars. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Clone Wars. Show all posts

7.28.2009

Panelology: San Diego CCI 2009 Round Up



by Brandon

In case you have been buried under a stack of Alpha Flight comics the past few days, The San Diego Comic Con wrapped up this past weekend. This weekend marked a huge landmark for the convention. Comic-Con International turned 40 this year. While the focus on comic books has been lessened in recent years by the influx of other media such as television, movies, and video games, there was plenty of comic book news to be had by all.

Welcome to the 21st Century!
While comic book news updates during big conventions like CCI are hardly a new thing, the pace at which updates hit the Internet this year was bordering on frantic. In addition to comic book news sites, social networking sites like Facebook and Twitter also were alight with constant updates. Contributing to the insane amount of up-to-the-second updates was the fact that iGoogle provided free wireless throughout the convention hall. Though some fans reported spotty reception, those of not in attendance were plenty happy with the deluge of updates we received throughout the weekend.

Also in 21st Century news, it appears Dark Horse will be releasing some of their Star Wars titles for download on the ever popular iPhone. Dark Horse will start out modestly by releasing three stories from their back catalogue. Stories from Empire, Legacy, and Clone Wars will be released first. If all goes well, expect more iPhone comics from Dark Horse in the future. I guess the impact of this announcement really depends on two things. One, do you like Star Wars? Two, and more importantly, do you have an iPhone? If you're like me, an iPhone is really beyond the realm of my interest. I'm going to be interested in seeing how well this program works. And why only Star Wars? Dark Horse has plenty of great books. It just seems odd that these stories would be the one they would pursue. But congratulations to Dark Horse for pushing their technology experiments one step further!

The trend appears to be continuing throughout the medium as well. CBR has an interesting look at the prevalence of digital comics. The future is here, or at least it's coming. These new developments could be tempting especially if they cost less than $4 an issue.


Marvelous
The announcement from Marvel that they own the rights to Mick Anglo's Marvelman is without a doubt the biggest news to come out of CCI. Hand's down. I'd dare any DC, Image, or indie fanboy or fangirl to give a comparable story. Anything? Yeah, I didn't think so. The announcement has left readers with more questions than answers. What does this mean for the Alan Moore and Neil Gaiman Marvelman/Miracleman stories? Will there be new material soon? How many reprints can fans expect? Regardless of the questions, it is damn exciting news to hear that new Marvelman material will be coming down the pike despite years of legal wrangling. I'll comment more on this issue later this week.

Kirkman's Progress
I believe Robert Kirkman has already arrived as a major creative force, but if anyone needed any more proof, just take a look at his presence at CCI this year. While news of the end of his Astonishing Wolf Man comic saddened many fans, that sadness was eventually washed away by some interesting preview art for Haunt from Todd McFarlane. Whether you love Todd or loathe him (personally, I'm more the latter), this book at least sounds interesting. With Kirkman backing up the Toddster on writing duties, I think this will sell like hotcakes when it finally sees the light of day in October.


Vertigo Commits to Crime
An odd, yet welcome, announcement came from DC/Vertigo that they will be making a new crime line. Listen to the audio podcast from the panel by clicking here. In a way, I'm glad to see Vertigo putting an emphasis on the crime genre. This is the perfect place for a new focus like this. However, was it really necessary to create a new alternative comic book line within an already established alternative comic book line? DC doesn't exactly have a great track record with this type of line. Remember Helix? Paradox? Piranha? Minx? Focus? Yeah... Vertigo has already had some strong crime comics in the past. It's just a bit odd that they would want to underline it even more. Vertigo is an established name within the medium. Adding the title "Crime" to it doesn't really do anything besides giving it a cosmetic boost.

Dark Reigning on the Blackest Night
Did you know DC has a huge event going on right now involving all of the ROY G. BIV color spectrum called Blackest Night? Did you know Marvel has a mega non-event event going on right now called Dark Reign? Sweet. Jesus. The guys at DC could hardly shut the hell up about the damn event. Same with Marvel. You couldn't throw a stone at the convention without hearing about Blackest Night or Dark Reign. I mean, Sweet Jesus! Guys, I know you're the professionals and all, but this just seems like a situation of the tail wagging the dog instead of the other way around. Can't we just tell good stories without there being a thousand tie-ins?



The Mandalorians Are a' Coming!
The second season of Star Wars: Clone Wars had a new preview trailer that was premiered at CCUI this past weekend. In a word, I would have to say it was awesome. If I had to use two words, I would probably say it was flipping awesome. It looks as if the handlers for the television show are doing all they can to bring a darker feel to this season. The bounty hunter angle looks to figure in heavily to this season's plot. Oh, and there were Mandalorians.

That's not all folks!
It really isn't all! These were just the highlights as I saw them. There were tons of media presentations from television, movies, and video games represented here that I just don't give a rat's ass about. You might, you sick and twisted reader, you. Be sure to check out San Diego Comic Con International's website for more details on the actual convention. Newsarama, Comic Book Resources, IGN, and Bleeding Cool also have a plethora of CCI news for your viewing pleasure. Be sure to check those sites out for exhaustive coverage of the comings and goings of CCI.

Read more!

4.14.2009

Spring Break Reading, Part 2 - Dark Horse, Vertigo, & Wildstorm


by Brandon

The saga continues! But I'm afraid there won't be any foil-embossed, polybagged, or variant editions. I'm so sorry. What you are likely to find here is a ton of comic reviews. I continue my quest to catch up on the piles and piles of reading I have neglected the past few months. Enter all that are brave!


Conan the Cimmerian #'s 8-9
There are only a few individuals I would trust writing Conan these days and Tim Truman is one of them. I'm convinced he was born to write this title. With these two issues, the Cimmeria arc has ended and readers find Conan entering a pivotal part in his adventuring experience. Conan becomes are mercenary in only the way Conan can. The writing is crisp and appropriately "pulpy" while never entering farcical territory. The art provided by Tomas Giorello is just superb. With more action and intrigue than you can shake a battle-axe at, Conan remains ones of the better titles on the stand.

Kull #'s 2-5
I was never a huge Kull fan. Of the Robert E. Howard properties, I was always more partial to Conan and Solomon Kane than any of the others. I picked this mini up more out of respect to Robert E. Howard's creations than any desire to read a story about Kull. Imagine my surprise as I simply devoured these issues in rapid succession last Saturday night. The creative team of Arvid Nelson and Will Conrad have sculpted a fine story in this mini. Kull has been crowned King, but an ancient order of serpents has infiltrated Kull's kingdom with the desire to crumble it before any foundation is built. twists and turns abound in this mini. If you skipped this mini, shame on you! It''s probably the best story from a Howard property to see print from Dark Horse thus far. What are you waiting for? Get it now!

Solomon Kane #5
There's just something immensely appealing to me about stories crafted around a Puritan with a sword and gun. This mini comes to an end with this issue, and it's a shame. This was also a superior miniseries. The setting of Germany's Black Forest is creepy enough, but couple that with Mario Guevara's haunting art and Scott Allie's writing, and you have one chilling story. I want to see more Solomon Kane in the future. I have the old Marvel mini which adapted several of the old stories, but there is almost limitless potential here for future stories. He's a puritan with a gun. Come on, give us more already.


Indiana Jones and the Tomb of the Gods #'s 3-4
It's been almost a year since Kingdom of the Crystal Skull was released, and we finally have the last issue of a miniseries that was intended to capitalize on the buzz of said film. Way to go Dark Horse! This miniseries dredges up several familiar items to the Indiana Jones mythos (Nazis, hidden temples, Marcus Brody, beautiful girls) but never catches a single spark of that previous glory. There were many things going against this title right from the outset. There wasn't too much that was special or memorable about this miniseries to set it apart from that previously mentioned mythos. It was a lot of "been there, done that" moments for both Indy and the reader. I would love to read a new Indiana Jones ongoing series. There are so many great stories to be told where you don't have to be restricted to Harrison Ford's aging acting abilities.

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic #'s 38-39
Now that Zayne Carrick, inept Jedi Padawan and titular hero of this book, has been cleared of all his wrongdoings, John Jackson Miller & Crew have a little fun with the book. Sith serial murderers and swoop-racing take center stage here in these issues. Each issue is just fun to read. And guess what kids? We get to see some more fisticuffs between Zayne and a Sith! Too bad Zayne fails miserably as usual to take on the Sith. For once, this reader would like to see some competency out of Zayne. Instead, it appears that Miller wants to make Zayne the Potsie Weber of the Star Wars universe. To each his own, I suppose. Regardless, these were some fun issues to read. They won't be winning Eisner Awards, but they were entertaining!

Star Wars: The Clone Wars #4
I loved the first season of the cartoon series from Cartoon Network. Don't believe me? Read here. The comic series has been okay thus far, but it hasn't been stellar. It's hard to translate the fluid nature of the animated cartoon series to a comic book page. The cartoon has its own style and it just dones't work as well when the comic books try to ape it. The story of trying to save slaves from the clutches of the Confederacy is decent, but not exactly original. Woohoo, Anakin wants to save the slaves. Woohoo.

Star Wars: Legacy #'s 33-34
Issue number 33 wraps up the Mon Calamari story, and not a moment too soon. Who. freaking. Cares. Nuff said. The next issue takes the reader back to what is actually important, dealing with the aftermath of the Vector storyline and the death of a certain main villain that has been plaguing Cade Skywalker since the first issue. The new status quo set up by Vector will be interesting to watch over the next few months, so long as they can avoid Mon Calamari stories in the process. This still remains the best Star Wars book on the stands.

Grendel: The Devil Inside #'s 1-3
This is an oldie, but goody. The second Grendel is dead, but her boyfriend's slow decent into madness leads to the arrival, albeit short, of the third Grendel. Matt Wagner's exploration of violence is frantic and dark, drawing the reader in one maddening journal entry at time. The journey Brian Li Sung takes to the bottom is fascinating. If somehow you missed any of the old Grendel tales, please do yourself a favor by seeking them out. You will not be disappointed!

The End League #7
This series continues to shine with each successive issue that hits the shelves. First designed as a monthly title before delays forced it into a bimonthly schedule, this title has now been placed on an indefinite hiatus. This issue only serves to highlight what the comic world will be missing. What's not to love about a world where the heroes are on the ropes struggling for survival? The Smiling Man (think Joker) has shot Thor's hammer, the magical key to all the heroes problems, into space. Or has he? I won't spoil the ending, but it sets up an interesting dynamic for the next issue. Only two more issues to go before Remender's self-imposed hiatus for this title. Damn.

The X-Files #5
Oh, this was great. Thus far, the new Wildstorm mini featuring everyone's favorite FBI agents has been serviceable, but nothing special. The fifth issue, however, was the first issue to really capture that eerie quality the series managed to maintain for much of its run. You could just feel the ambiance of the series bleeding through the pages. It's too bad the mini didn't catch on because I think the further adventures of Agents Mulder and Scully could be fun to read in this format.

Top 10: Season Two #3 & Special #1
You get the feeling that this series could be better if Moore were still on the creative team, but the premise of this series is just so wacky and strange that it is impossible not to find some joy in the series. While the special was pretty much useless, the main miniseries has been fun. In the third issue, readers are treated to a self-help Origin Weekend put on by the Premise Keepers for heroes who are having a costumed identity crisis. The results are hilarious. Peregrine's husband apparently no longer wants to be the costumed hero he is. Despite having reservations a deep-seeded feelings of shame over her husband's identity problems, she supports his going on a Origin Weekend. This story is so clever and unique that it seems like something that Moore really would come up with. I hope there are future seasons of this title around the corner. I'm a sucker for a good cop drama and the art always provides the keen reader with some unusual and fun treats.

Top 10: Beyond the Farthest Precinct #'s 1-5
I found these issues swirling around some dollar bin recently and I had to pick them up. This was a great miniseries about a drug epidemic amongst robots. There were subplots galore and plenty of zany action in this miniseries that takes place five years after the Smax miniseries of a few years ago. This really should be considered a "season" of the series. As I mentioned above, look carefully at the art for some nice Easter Eggs.

Fables #'s 81-82
This is another one of those books that always delivers in terms of quality, and these two issues are not exceptions! These issues deal with a major death from the Fables crew. Longtime readers will be crestfallen by the death, but the knowledge that a fable may return from the dead does keep some alive, though Willingham goes to great lengths in issue #82 to point out that this character only appears in one short nursery rhyme and may be dead for good. On the villainous end of things, Mr. Dark is being established as the new bad guy in Fabletown and he's turning out to be a worthy replacement for the Adversary. Many comic books claim to change the status quo nearly on a monthly basis, but Fables is the real deal. The new setup will service a wide range of new stories that should continue to maintain the quality of this book for quite some time to come.

That's it for today... and for the remainder of the week! I'll be back next Sunday or Monday with the third and final installment of Spring break Reading. Why? Because I'm actually going to do something with my Spring Break; I'm going camping! But fear not, I'm bringing a whole stack of comic books for my reading pleasure. Be back next week for some reviews of some golden oldies including The Spirit, Elementals, Justice League International, Savage Dragon, Suicide Squad, and much, much more.
Read more!

3.22.2009

Star Wars - The Clone Wars, Season 1


by Brandon

The first season of Star Wars - The Clone Wars is officially over! I was pretty psyched when this was announced a couple of years ago, but the prequels left more than its fair share of fans who were nervous about the series. How would a series based on the derided prequel trilogy actually fare? The answer; not bad at all. For those who missed, here are my thoughts on what you should seek out and what you should avoid from the first season.

Best Episode:
"Jedi Crash" & "Defenders of Peace"
This awesome two-part story was by far the best this season. Anakin, Ahsoka, and Aayla Secura crash land on the uncharted world of Maridun, which is occupied by pacifist Lurmen refugees from Mygeeto. The episode explores the cost of war and the point at which war is necessary. It was nice to see Aayla Secura shine here in both episode. The Lurmens also ended up being one of the more interesting and likable species to be spawned out of the whole prequel era. At the risk of sounding like a wuss, I thought they were pretty cute.but they were useful too. So, take that Ewoks and Gunguns! The obvious nod to Akira Kurosawa's work, (one of the major influences Lucas cites on his directorial style) via the peaceful Lurmens was a nice touch. The Irish accents for the Lurmens were cool too.

Worst Episode: "Bombad Jedi"
I dare you to find a worse episode than this. I double-dare you! From the title alone, you can guess who manages to fumble his way into the series. Mix in a little C-3PO and Padme, two of my least favorite characters, and you get a big ball of useless on top of it all. Jar-Jar just serves to add insult to injury. While I'm sure someone out there likes Jar-Jar, the universally accepted truth about this character is that he takes away more from the Star Wars experiences than he actually adds to it. Way more. Jar-Jar somehow manages to rescue Padme and C-3PO from the clutches of Nute Gunray by convincing the enemies of freedom that he is a Jedi? Yeah right.

Best Hero: Ahsoka Tano
One of the biggest question marks going into the Clone Wars movie and following series was that of Anakin's "new" padawan Ahsoka Tano. In the movie she comes off as being that obnoxious tween you just love to hate and hate to love, and that assessment is one born out of excessive niceness. Let's face it; she was whiny. Despite the obvious continuity and canon issues she brings up just by appearing in the show, Ahsoka was one of the most surprising and well developed parts of the show this season. Several episodes showcased the potential for this character, especially in "Cloak of Darkness" where she and Luminara Unduli square off with Asajj Ventress and win. I'll admit that part of my interest in this character is the desire to find out what exactly happened to her, but for now she will just remain a solid addition to the Star Wars expanded universe. As Palpatine comments in The Phantom Menace, I look forward to watching her progress in the coming season.

Worst Hero: Anakin Skywalker
And then there's Ahsoka's Jedi Master... Anakin, Anakin, Anakin. Not only did your chin dimple detract from nearly everything you said and did throughout the first season, Anakin comes off as being a pretty lame hero. He is taken out of commission just as many times as he is saving the Grand Army of the Republic from assured defeat. Just check out the episodes "Dooku Captured" or the season finale "Hostage Crisis" for your dose of heroic lameness. I know Anakin is the central character in this series, but he fails on almost every level. He comes off more as a bumbling intergalactic fraternity brother than a Jedi General. Plus, he does have a creepy old man vibe around him in most of his scenes with Ahsoka. Anakin already has some hormone issues. Add the stress of war and a tween wearing clothes that practically scream "jail bait", it isn't hard to make a mental leap that Anakin might have eyes for his young student. Prove me otherwise.

Best Villain: Count Dooku
He's a pompous, arrogant, egalitarian Sith Lord who just happens to be the leader of a massive galactic uprising. What's not to like about this character? Woefully underused in the Prequels, this mistake has been corrected in multiple Clone Wars related media outings such as video games, comic books, novels, and now the first season of the show. Dooku fits the bill of a scary old man that we all have an irrational fear of. He's sleek and well-mannered unlike the rest of the Separatists. While most of the villains in this series cannot and should not be taken seriously, Dooku remains the real threat thus far. See him shine in "Dooku Captured" or in "The Gungan General" in all his Sith-like glory. While he ultimately gets chumped by his Sith successor Anakin in Episode III, this series can help define the character beyond the lame sendoff in the third movie.

Worst Villain: General Grievous
Speaking of villains you can't take seriously, General Grievous is probably the most grievous offender of all (pun most certainly intended). Out side of the awesome "Lair of Grievous" episode, the poor droid general is treated about as well as a slapstick background character in a poorly written Jar-Jar routine. Here is a cyborg general who is supposed to be the baddest of the bad on the entire galactic block. Really? Then how come he gets schooled regularly in just about every appearance. This isn't just a problem with the television show; his bumbling exploits have been unfortunately cataloged throughout the expanded universe. If Grievous is a badass, make him a badass! Let's hope the next season will avoid Grievous clunkers like "Destroy Malevolence" and "Duel of the Droids." Grievous is not a simple henchman, but a deadly villain that needs to be used to his fullest potential. At this point, it seems like he can't pull of a victory for the "W" column to save his own life. Let's hope we see a renewed interest in making this character live up to his evilness.

Overall Impressions
I realize that when it comes to Star wars I am a hugely biased audience. Yes, I am one of those few fans who truly loved the prequels as much as the original trilogy. In nearly every novel, comic book, video game, or other media I can find something redeemable. That's why I have and will continue to be a dependable bankroll for George Lucas for years to come. But... I really loved this season. I generally had to catch the repeater episode that aired on Sunday nights, but the show was jut a treat to watch as a huge fan of Star Wars. I could watch endless seasons of the Clone Wars. The Clone Wars era provides a wide enough canvas for so many stories. I would say that if you are reading this and the prequels turned you off of your love of appreciation of Star Wars, give this animated show a try. It is surprisingly good and consistent. Not every show is perfect, but I think this show really pegs the feel of the original trilogy. The Clone Wars are epic is scope and the future looks bright for Season 2, which is shaping up to focus on the recently introduced bounty hunters, including the ultra-cool looking yet yet less than fully realized character Cad Bane.

The second season should start sometime in the fall. Until then, we have the DVD release to look forward to. Check the show out and visit the official website. Oftentimes, there are several episodes available for your viewing pleasure. Data Clips provide accurate Cliff Notes versions of each episode as well.

Happy viewing and may the force be with you!

(You have to end an article about Star Wars somehow...)
Read more!

8.11.2008

The Prequels: Star Wars or Star Bores?

by Yassir and Brandon

Yas - To say I am a fan of the original Star Wars trilogy would be a massive understatement. I based my dissertation for my degree on Star Wars. I have watched these films thousands of times and I still consider them to be my favourite movies. I KNOW that there are tons of films better in terms of direction, plot and well, everything...BUT to ME these films are my favourites. Deal with it.

I dreamt and speculated about the prequels since 1983. I still remember watching the trailer for The Phantom Menace. I'm getting goosebumps even now just writing this. I was completely blown away; my beloved Star Wars was back.

What a shame that it turned out to be the biggest disappointment in cinematic history. To me, anyway....

Over to you Brandon!

Brandon - Like Yassir, Star Wars has been my favorite film for as long as I can remember. It's not just a film series for me, though. I've put massive amounts of time, thought, and money into this epic mythology. However, I never presumed that this trilogy was made specifically for me. Sure, like most fans, I would spend long hours with friends coming up with potential sequel ideas. But I always kept the healthy knowledge that if anything more from George Lucas, it would be his vision alone. I love Star Wars as a story, but I don't presume to control its creative destiny.

I was absolutely elated when the prequel trilogy was announced. The idea of exploring the back story of Anakin Skywalker was great. Everyone knew what the ending was, but so much of the past was covered in mystery.

Unlike many fans, I found myself thoroughly enjoying the trilogy. I think it largely held true to the heart of the original films. I would be lying if I said there weren't elements of the prequels that didn't disappoint me, but those instances are minor. I feel like the Prequels have made the whole Star Wars universe more cohesive. I think the prequels add more to the Star Wars galaxy than it takes away. We are better off as fans having them than not having them.

Yas - I see what Brandon is saying in that this is and always will be Lucas' baby. What I'm arguing, and what I passionately believe, is that Lucas phoned the prequels in. He lost his touch. Yes, this is his vision but the old Lucas who had it all to prove would not have made these prequels. Where did he go wrong? Where do I start? Wellllllll:

  • George Lucas directing - this is where I feel the films really suffered. Lucas has never been a natural director in my opinion (and to be fair in his own opinion too). These films would have infinitely improved with somebody else at the helm with Lucas still actively involved. McCallum as producer was also a bad choice as he turned out to be nothing more than a yes man. If Lucas had to direct he needed a producer who would be prepared to argue his points.

  • Casting - Ewan McGregor as Obi Wan? Check. Portman as Amidala? Check. Liam Neeson? Check. To be honest I had no real problems with the casting, what I had problems with was the delivery, the performances. However, unfortunately I have to lay the blame on Lucas' doorstep. The fundamental reason? DIALOGUE! The dialogue was atrocious. Yes I know the Holy Trilogy™ wasn't exactly Shakespeare but the dialogue in the prequels was beyond awful. It didn't help that the delivery of said dialogue was wooden and uninspiring. The actors and actresses delivering such tripe need strong direction. They didn't get it.

  • The nature of the Force vs Midichlorians - The Force in the original trilogy was ambiguous and spiritual. The prequels felt the need to spell it out with the ridiculous inclusion of the Midichlorians. It made it much more scientific than spiritual, and I feel this weakened the cool factor of The Force.


  • Anakin as a Ten Year old - This was, I feel, one of the biggest reasons why the prequels were a let down. When Obi Wan first tells Luke that he fought with Anakin in the Clone Wars you felt they were the same age and good friends. Why Lucas felt the need to start his story with Anakin as 10 years old is beyond me. That kid was so annoying, and to be fair, Anakin as a whole was annoying. Darth Vader should not have been a whiny brat but that's what Lucas made him out to be

  • The Clone Wars - going back to that conversation between Obi Wan and Luke who thought that the Clone Wars would be about droids vs the Clones AND the Jedi? How incredibly lame is that? Who cares about robots and battle Droids?

Brandon -
  • George Lucas Directing - I think it was essential for George Lucas to direct these movies, for better or worse. I think this allowed for George to not fall into the "fanboy appeasement" trap. Star Wars fans love to fill in the blanks. We've been doing this rather efficiently since the saga began. However, Lucas ensured that none of the multitude of ideas surrounding where he should go with the direction of the prequels by filtering out the ideas through his own direction. George Lucas is a director, Star Wars is his baby, and I don't think he should have to give it up.

  • Casting - I think Lucas did a superb role in casting nearly everyone, even Jar-Jar. As obnoxious as he was, he did a good job casting Ahmed Best. With regards to casting Anakin, I think he did a better job casting Hayden than he did with his choice for the first movie. Yuck. Otherwise, I think Lucas found a lot of good live and vocal talents to populate the silver screen.

  • The nature of the Force vs Midichlorians - I wasn't bothered by this new interpretation of the Force as many fans were. The Force is still mystical right? We just now know that is is caused by a symbiotic relationship. It makes more sense than marking it up to pixie dust. Plus, it doesn't factor heavily in the trilogy. It wasn't like we were exposed to CSI: Coruscant throughout the prequels.

  • Anakin as a Ten-Year old Boy - This is a tough one. Did anybody expect this? No, I don't think so. I think most assumed we would meet Anakin and Obi-Wan already entangled in The Clone Wars, not while he's whining about how his last podracer was blasted. But it was interesting. I think it makes Anakin's fall more powerful to show him as an innocent child. The roots of his issues with the galaxy come as a young man, just like real life. Believe it or not, Adolf Hitler put his pants on one leg at a time just like anybody else. So why can't Vader have been a snotty child once upon a time? I think a lot of people came into the Prequels thinking Anakin was going to be this terrible person from square one and were shocked to see him in scenes where he would do stuff like run to hug his mother. "Hug his mother? No, kill that bitch!" the millions cry. It's kind of a silly notion to think he's just evil. There's no drama if he was just evil. Part of the interest in Anakin's story arc over the six movies is to see him come full circle. Innocence, corruption, failure, rebirth. That's what Star Wars is all about.

  • The Clone Wars - This was probably one of the biggest mysteries going into the Prequels. An offhanded remark by Obi-Wan sparked the imagination of millions of fans. I think Lucas could have fleshed out the Clone Wars a bit more in the Prequel trilogy for those who weren't as immersed in the other franchise merchandising as fans like me, but he is making up for that with the cartoon and movie. I didn't mind the fact that droids were involved. In fact, back in the mid-90s (around '95 or '96), I read in a fan magazine a very accurate description of the first movie in which it talked about droids versus clones. I didn't think this was a bad idea then, so there wasn't much "sticker shock" for me when the story behind the Clone Wars began to take shape in the novels, comic books, cartoons, and movies.

Yas - Well argued, my man, but as much as I agree that Star Wars is Lucas' baby I still feel that another director would have benefitted the movies invaluably. After all it didn't hurt Empire did it?

And I never wanted Anakin to be evil straight away. It needed to be fleshed out and gradual but I don't think Lucas pulled it off at all. The big turn was because Mace was gonna arrest The Emperor? And even then when Anakin killed Mace he just suddenly pledges allegiance? Sorry, didn't work. And no, I do not think the preceding films made this course of events at all credible. The corruption you speak of simply did not feel believable.

Brandon - I definitely agree with you that the corruption of Anakin could be a bit more believable, but you're discounting his slaughter of the Tusken Raiders and his two fights with Dooku. Anakin wrestled with his anger before Windu ever walked into Palpatine's office.

Yas - Oh, I'm not discounting that at all and that (the Tusken slaughter) was particularly done well but I still maintain that the final push that made him turn was not believable. To make matters worse the dialogue and acting was laughable and pathetic.

To wrap up, I will always remain a massive Star Wars fan. Whilst I did not love the prequels and wished that they were even better than the original trilogy I do concede that there have been additions that I welcomed, such as Padawans, the stuffiness and staidness of the Jedi Council, Pod Racing and Yoda with a lightsaber.

But ultimately the prequels were a failure (in my opinion, I hasten to add).

I'm off now to watch my beloved Holy Trilogy™.

Brandon - I think that you're right. It could have been done better. Therein lies some of the problem with the acceptance of the Prequels with fans. Everyone knew the outcome of the Prequels before they saw one minute of footage. Anakin becomes Darth Vader. Yet, we all had built in expectations of how that should happen. Did it live up to expectations? Probably not! As Star Wars fans often do, they are looking at this through rose colored Stormtrooper helmets.

As for me, I'll stick with the entire saga. Read more!